I sometimes think, “why did I move to the desert?”  I don’t regret moving to Arizona.  Okay, maybe I regret it a little.  It’s more apparent when it’s 113 degrees outside, and I walk outside to be greeted by a blast of hot air or the sun beaming down on me and my skin feels like it’s burning off.

I was born and raised in St. Louis.  I left for four years to go away to college in Omaha, Nebraska and I lived one summer between my junior and senior year of college in Seattle, Washington.  After college I moved back to St. Louis.  Everything was fine for the first five years, but I started wondering what it would be like to live in a different part of the United States.  I decided that I wanted to leave St. Louis to get a taste of what it’s like to live outside of the Midwest. 

In my decision to leave the Midwest, weather was certainly a factor.  i was tired of snow and tired of the humidity.   I also wanted to move by mountains.  Ideally, I would love to live by the mountains and by the sea.  However, I had thought of moving to Seattle (for the mountains and the sea), Washington DC (for the raw energy and awesome public tranportation) or New Orleans (pre-Katrina for the awesome food and culture).  I knew that I wanted to move away for a short while before settling back in St. Louis.  My boyfriend at the time wanted to do the same thing.  And our timing for a change in life came at the best time.   

My ex-boyfriend was working for a motorcycle dealership in St. Louis.  The owners had some personal issues and decided to close down their business.  My ex-boyfriend found himself without a job.  He considered working for other dealerships in the area, but nothing here interested him.  As word got out his dealership closed, he was getting offers from around the country.  The offer he found most appealing was in Scottsdale, Arizona. 

Long story short, we moved out here.  The job he accepted in Scottsdale turned out to be a bad deal.  He got homesick and headed back to Missouri.  Suffice it to say, I obviously stayed in Arizona and my ex-boyfriend moved back to Missouri.  That’s why he is now the ex. 

The thing I love, Love, LOVE the most about Arizona is the hiking.  Right now I’m taking a hiatus from hiking.  After the whole incident on South Mountain with the boy from Alaska, I’ve decided to hold off on my hikes.  But once Fall comes around, I will hit the trails again.  I normally hike 2 to 3 times a week.  But now, I don’t even think about going out on the trails.

On certain really hot days, I wish I were anywhere but Arizona.  At times I feel like I’m in Hell.  And it’s not just the weather.   My first summer here I was convinced everything out here was dangerous and trying to kill me.  Arizona is home to rattlesnakes, scorpions, mountain lions and black widows–all freakishly dangerous organisms.  I also was worried about my dog, Loco, being swept away by an owl, eaten by a coyote or attacked my a javelina. Even plants in Arizona are dangerous.  Why would plants need prickly protection?

However, once summer is over and it gets cooler, I can’t imagine any other place I would want to live.   There’s only six weeks left of summer.  Yep!  Six weeks is way too long.  It’s hot and I don’t care if it’s a dry heat.  Hot is hot! But for now I will to just grin and bear it and daydream of cooler days. 

