I never had cable television growing up.  The most channels our tv had were seven channels (Channels 2, 4, 5, 9, 11, 24,30) and that’s the way it was until I graduated high school and left for college.  In college, there were many more channels.  But really, who had the time to watch tv between school and socializing.  I would say “partying” but I was (and still am) a nerd.  I didn’t really go to any parties, but anyway…There was one show I remember watching and that was Deutsche Welle (aka German TV).  I had no idea what they were talking about on that channel.  Everything was in German.  What I do remember is that one show had a really hot guy hosting it and that’s why I watched it.

As I got older and found more free time in my life after finishing grad school, I was able tune into television.   At best, I could watch maybe one or two shows of a series during each season.  I never got hooked on drama series like 24, Lost or Desperate Housewives.  Sitcoms were okay if I could catch re-runs on TNT, USA and Lifetime.   And I remember being invited to parties to watch Grey’s Anatomy or Sex in the City, but after watching the first couple of shows at the beginning of the season my interest would fizzle out.

Then a few years ago, I turned on my “boob tube” and immediately got hooked on “The Real Housewives of Orange County.”  OMG!! I love this show.  Why? I have no idea!  But I can’t stop watching it.  Catching that one show snowballed into a huge addiction to Bravo.  Everyday I would tune into watch Lauri, Vicki, Kimberly, Jo and Jean and watch re-runs of the show every week.  Some weeks I could watch the same show two or three times.  After I would get home from work, I turn the station immediately to Bravo and that’s where it would stay the whole afternoon and evening until I went to bed.  Soon more shows popped up that peaked my interest–Project Runway, Top Chef, Millionaire Matchmaker, Flipping Out and the lists goes on and on.

My boyfriend thinks Bravo is stupid.  And yes, he’s probably right, but I don’t care.  I could have other vices in life such as smoking, drinking, gambling, etc.  That stuff doesn’t interest me and if my only vice in life is Bravo, then so be it.  I can live with that. 

So Bravo, keep doing what you are doing. I love it!  I don’t aim to be like the women in Real Housewives.  Successful or not, the drama in their lives are things that I don’t want, but have no problems watching them go through it.   Real Housewives in Orange County, New York, Atlanta and New Jersey, please, Please, PLEASE keep taping episodes.  Also, I love the Millionaire Matchmaker.  Ms. Patti Stanger, I’m not looking for millionaire love, but I think it would be a blast to work with you.  I’ve set up four couples and three are married or soon to be married.  I have potential to be a matchmaker.  Let me know if you want to expand to Scottsdale 🙂  For the producers at Top Chef, if you need taste testers or an everyday person to be a judge, I’m available.  Miami Social…love the crazy George and Lina drama.  In my own opinion, I think NYC Prep should be cancelled.  Why give kids that young their own show?  It’s very disturbing and depressing show and I think this show perpetuates bad behavior and attitudes in youth, especially with the kids on that show.  And for Flipping Out, don’t call me…I can’t work for an OCD house flipper.

