Now that I went to the Social Media AZ for Business Event (SMAZ), the pressure to write a blog is even greater than before.  I now know the things I’m doing wrong, and I’m okay with it.  I decided to blog and to do “My Challenge” to practice writing.  After going to this conference, I learned some great tips that I can apply to my blogging.   To say I will change my ways overnight would be a lie.  I don’t do change very easily or very quickly, but at least I know where I need to improve.   To warn you, I need to ease into using the tips I learned today.  So without further ado, here is Day 13 of “My Challenge”

I was totally a blank slate going into SMAZ.   This conference was way more than I expected.  All the speakers were excellent.  From finding my “personal spice” with Pam Slim to tips in strategic social media planning with Jason Baer, I was introduced to a wealth of information.  As social media is a new concept for businesses, I believe it is even more so for nonprofits.  It makes me feel good to know that Crisis Nursery is on the right track and attending this conference reaffirmed the steps we are taking as an organization to be more in touch with our community. 

SMAZ was also an opportunity for me to meet people I was following on Twitter.  I met a few people, but there were a lot of them that slipped by me.  One person who didn’t slip by was @az_tweeats, but how I met her was pretty funny.

I didn’t meet @az_tweeats (aka Madonna Kash) at the Social Media event.  I wanted to meet her, and I got excited when I saw that she was at SMAZ.  I’m a foodie and followed her tweets.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have the opportunity to meet her at SMAZ.  The funny thing is I met her at the NetworkingPHX event in Scottdale.  She came up and congratulated me on winning the video camera at the conference.  It took me awhile to register, but I remembered seeing her at SMAZ earlier that day.  When I figured out she was @az_tweeats, I told her that I saw her tweet about being at SMAZ, and I wanted to meet her at the conference but didn’t get a chance.  She told me that  I made her day when I told her I wanted to meet her. I thought that was totally cool.

Anyway, SMAZ was a great event.  I’m looking forward to future events so that I can meet even more people that I’m following and learn more tricks of the trade.  I will leave you with this tonight.  One of the conditions in winning my raffle prize is posting something that I recorded.  Here it is.  It’s not that good.  I need to fiddle around with my video camera a bit more, but I want to hold up my end of the bargain.  Thank you Fred von Graf for hosting an excellent event and for my new video camera.

