Big House

Big House

Today, college football season kicks off.  What does that mean for me?  That means that every Saturday, my boyfriend will be glued to the tv.  It also means that I will be rooting for the University of Michigan.  I’ve never gone to that school or have even set foot in the state of Michigan. But it’s my boyfriend’s team and I support him, his interests and more importantly his team.  

Now I don’t characterize myself as one of those girls who loves everything my boyfriend loves.  We do have similar interests and have introduced each other to our hobbies.  He introduced me to bowling and I introduced him to hiking.  I tried to get him to watch the WWE and to try out salsa dancing, but he wasn’t interested in either one.  He has tried to turn me into an avid college football fan with little success. 

I can watch maybe one game, but really, I don’t have the attention span for it.  What I can basically do to support my boyfriend’s football addiction is to watch his favorite team.  And that’s about it.  One game a week is good enough for me.

Honestly, I don’t get the fascination with college football.  And from my understanding, it’s a guy thing.  Really! It’s not like their professional football players, but whatever.  

Both my undergrad and graduate colleges did not have football teams.  And that could be where my lack of understanding lies.  Creighton and SLU’s main sports were basketball, soccer and baseball.  Creighton and SLU’s soccer teams are actually huge rivals.  I had no idea what I was missing out on until I went to an ASU game.  It was really exciting and the school spirit was awesome.  You don’t get that same effect with soccer.

At the beginning of our relationship, he warned me about his  love of college football.  I didn’t understand what that meant until he blew me off to watch a game.  At the time, I was livid.  He apologized profusely and told me it won’t happen again.  That was nearly two years ago, and it hasn’t.  He now records all the games he wants to watch and DVR is probably what saved our relationship.   

So I say, bring on college football.  I’m ready.  And if worse comes to worse, my boyfriend can DVR it! :p

