At the end of the day my supervisor likes to come into my office and chit chat.  I don’t mind it at all.  She is probably one of the most entertaining people I know.  I think we get along well because I remind her of herself when she was my age.  She is turning 60 this year and doesn’t look it one bit.  Like me, she has her Masters in Social Work and works in development (fundraising). 

We are both hard workers and don’t like to hear “we can’t do that” or “we’ve never it done it that way (so why change).”  We firmly believe that if it’s not working…FIX IT!  However, where we differ is that she knows her limits and I pretty much will work myself into the ground to get it all done. 

A few months ago she asked me if I ever just sit around and do nothing.  I inquired, “What do you mean…do nothing?”  She asked, “do you just sit and watch tv or read a book?” 

You know, I haven’t thought about doing those things in a long while.  I do watch tv, but I “watch it” while working on an article or emails when I work from home.  Lately, the only things I’ve been reading are articles associated with work.  I’m in the middle of reading “Middlsex,” but haven’t picked it back up in about a month.

While my supervisor likes my work ethic and appreciates my hard work, she knows that taking a break or a mini-vacation is important as well.  She knows I love my work and have a passion for what I do in making my community a better and safer place for all of us to live.  She also knows that I need to take breaks.  For awhile there she ordered me to take days off.  “You are off Friday, don’t come to work.” 

I think it’s pretty funny she made me take days off.  However, I think she realizes that I need to step up and say “I need a vacation.”  So instead of demanding I take a day off, she now suggests it.  She told me that  “I am the type of person that’s always on the go; however, I won’t learn to slow down until I hit that brick wall.”  And you know and I know she’s freakin’ right.  And I really hate that!

What good am to my work or community if I am out sick or dead of a heart attack?  Bottomline, I need to take better care of myself.  And honestly, I don’t want to give her the satisfaction of being right.    So  I’m sorry to those people if I leave work on time and have to get answers to you the next day or after the weekend.  You guys can wait.  I took today off to do some chores and get things done so I can spend the rest of my weekend relaxing.  Soooo…Happy Four-Day (labor-free) Labor Day Weekend to me!!

